Blogging · Encouragement · Life · Tips

5 Ways I Overcame My Blogging Insecurities

fear-of-blogging-cover

 

We’re all familiar with the New Year’s resolution woes that happen this time of year. Whether you make them or not, these resolutions always seem to have the same results – motivational beginnings, short-lived action, and quick endings.

I typically don’t make big resolutions but I do like to set goals for myself each year. This year, my goal is to blog more. This has actually been my goal for the past several years, but each time I start to write a blog post, I have a boat load of insecure thoughts come my way and I end up shutting the whole thing down.

– Who really wants to read what I write?
– Everyone and their dog have a blog, what’s the point of one more?  – Seriously, there are several Dog Blogs in cyberspace.
– I’m funny in person, but what if I’m not funny in blog-form?
– What if I spell or say things wrong?
– Who is this really for?
– What do I write about?
– Do I really want to deal with the haters that may be out there?
– ME??
– How will I make time to do this?
– “Do coconuts migrate?!” – Monty Python reference #1
– I’m a talker, not a writer?!
The list could go on….

Seriously, the struggle has been real. I think of myself as a confident woman in many areas of my life, thanks to good parents and good teaching, but when it comes to blogging or writing in general, I find myself feeling as inadequate as decaf coffee.

Even with as many insecure thoughts that come into my head, I can’t fight the desire I have to keep this blog going. With all that said, here are some of the ways I’ve been combating my insecure thoughts. I hope you can apply these to whatever area of insecurities you may be facing.

  1. Take the pressure off.

I find that I put more pressure on myself than anyone else. I’ve had to take the time to remind myself that blogging is not life or death. Just do your best. If people like it, great! If they don’t, life is still good.

  1. Keep Things In Perspective.

With the plethora of blogs out there, I could easily look at mine and want to spend a few hundred dollars to get my own domain, have the perfect layout, get a bunch of professional photos done and take the perfect coffee/book/laptop on a table top photo… but I’m just not there yet. I may not ever be. I intend to keep things as well done as they can be for where I am right now. As a full-time staff and missionary at Global Ventures (GV), wife to Caleb, follower of Christ, daughter, sister and friend, my life can be pretty full. Though I’m VERY excited to start and continue blogging, I want to keep the main thing, the main thing at all times. For me, the main things are my relationship with God, my husband, my family and missions (my job), everything else is secondary.

  1. Enjoy it.

After taking the pressure off of myself to be perfect, and keeping this in perspective for what this blog truly is. I can really enjoy writing, telling stories, sharing about my life, my savior, my husband, working out, recent mission trips, and my obsession with delicious food and just enjoy the journey. This may always be a small hobby of mine, or it could turn into something more. Either way, I want to enjoy it for what it is now. I also want to write about things that bring me joy, in hopes to bring a little joy into your life as well.

  1. Be yourself.

As cliché as it seems these days to say things like “Be yourself,” “Look at your finger print, it’s the only one like it,” “You are special, you are kind….” You get the point. As cheesy as some of these sayings might be, we need to hear them. There are a lot of opportunities to compare ourselves with others and then try to become a social media perfect version of ourselves. There is real freedom when we don’t compare ourselves with others, but rather, just be authentically real. The good, the bad, the cranky, the happy, the imperfect, the sensitive, the funny, the serious, the real version of ourselves. I want to give myself the freedom to be the #nofilter version of myself on here – typos and all. ;)

  1. The Audience of One.

Relationships are important, and I believe everyone needs people that can speak into their lives to help bring balance and direction. I’m blessed to have a group of people that are on my team and can encourage, mentor, direct and support me. I value these relationships a lot. But at the end of the day, these people are not the ones I want to please.

I live my life with the main focus of pleasing God. I may not get it right all the time – lets be honest… – But In everything I do, I strive to make the decisions that will bring the glory and praise to God. In the grand scheme of things, blogging is not a major thing. However, I want all things I do to honor Him. Romans 12:1-2 says it best.

“So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.” – Romans 12:1-2 MSG

I’m so thankful that no matter what I do or how good my blog is, God loves me.

I pray that as I continue to share things with you on here that you’re encouraged, and that whether you have a resolution this year or not, that you remember to take the pressure off, keep things in perspective, enjoy your life, be yourself, and live your life for an audience of one.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-2-40-05-pm

© 2017 ANNA HOWARD ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a Reply

